Honest John

Honest John is a quintet comprised of some of the most active and colourful musicians in the fields of Jazz and Improvisation in Norway.

Honest John gathers inspiration from many divergent sources- Dutch Free jazz, Brazilian Jazz and Samba and composers like Weberen and Schiarrino. With these different traditions well represented in the band, the result is a vital tonic of energetic compositions, with focused improvisations which issue forth from them. The music of Honest John has been described as unique, different and highly original.

The musicians in Honest John have also appeared on a variety of releases which have been well received in the Norwegian and foreign media. Recent examples include Ola Kværnberg "Steamdome" (Grappa) , Cortex ”Avantgarde Party Music” (Clean Feed), Ballrogg ”Abaft the Beam” (Clean Feed) and Large Unit ”Fluku” (PNL records).

contact: klaus.e.holm (at) gmail dot com

Contact info

Klaus Ellerhusen Holm

klaus.e.holm (at) gmail.com


project members

Kalle Moberg (accordion)
Kim Johannesen (guitar, banjo)
Ola Høyer (bass)
Erik Nylander (drums)
Klaus Ellerhusen Holm (composition, alto sax, clarinet)